The Prinsburg City Council held its regular meeting on January 16, 2024 at 1:00 pm in the city council room. Mayor Roger Ahrenholz called the meeting to order. Present were council members Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema, as well as City employee Nolan Slagter, and Billie Jo Rassat from the Clara City Herald.

**Art 1** Mitch Swart made a motion to approve the minutes as printed from the December 12, 2023 Public Hearing meeting. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 2** Dan Negen made a motion to approve the minutes as printed from the December 12, 2023 regular meeting. Mitch Swart supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 3** In old business, the council discussed the matter of the city's Rural Service Rate (as brought up at our December 2023 public hearing meeting by property owner Jim Huizenga). The Rural Service Rate was set by city ordinance in 1994 at 42.75% of other property rates. No further action was taken at this time.

**Art 4** Dan Negen made a motion to approve payment of claims totaling \$14,885.23 as presented to the council. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 5** Greg Bonnema made a motion to appoint PrinsBank as the official bank for 2024 City financial transactions. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 6** Mitch Swart made a motion to appoint United Bankers Bank as the official bank collateral holder for 2024. Greg Bonnema supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 7** Dan Negen made a motion to appoint the Mayor, Clerk, and Greg Bonnema as the Finance Committee for 2024. Mitch Swart supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 8** Greg Bonnema made a motion to appoint Mitch Swart and Dan Negen as the Health Board for 2024. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 9** Greg Bonnema made a motion to appoint the Mayor, Dalen Folkerts, and Mitch Swart as the Economic Development Committee for 2024. Dan Negen supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 10** Greg Bonnema made a motion to appoint Mitch Swart and Dalen Folkerts as City representatives on the Joint Powers Board for 2024. Dan Negen supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 11** Mitch Swart made a motion to appoint Dan Negen and Greg Bonnema as Zoning Committee members for 2024. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 12** Greg Bonnema made a motion to appoint Mitch Swart as Acting Mayor (in the case of the absence of the Mayor) for 2024. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 13** Dan Negen made a motion to appoint the Clara City Herald as the official newspaper for the city for 2024. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 14** Greg Bonnema made a motion to appoint Griffen Leitch of Anderson Larson (of Willmar) as the official City Attorney for 2024. Dan Negen supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 15** Greg Bonnema made a motion to appoint Sarah Van Dyken as the City Administrator/Clerk for 2024. Dan Negen supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 16** Dan Negen made a motion to appoint Warren Damhof, Kyle Sportel, and Roy Duininck as the Emergency Management Officers for the City for 2024. Dalen Folkerts supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

**Art 17** The Council reviewed a letter dated December 20, 2023 from the MN Pollution Control Agency alleging several violations of sewage effluent standards in March of 2022 and July 2022 through July 2023. Our sewage contractor, Natural Systems Utilities, responded on January 2, 2024. The response indicated that the alleged deficiency during March 2022 was simply due to a reporting error. The response also indicated that the more recent violations were due to equipment malfunctions which have been corrected since then. No further action is believed to be needed at this time. This was received for information.

**Art 18** The Council briefly discussed overdue water and sewer bills. Our plan is to certify overdue bills to the County for collection with property tax remittances. However, no further action was taken at this time.

**Art 19** Mitch Swart made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Greg Bonnema supported the motion. Ayes: Dan Negen, Mitch Swart, Dalen Folkerts, and Greg Bonnema. Nays: None. The motion carried.

Sarah Van Dyken, Clerk